An English degree, a jobless mom of one, a chance to start anew. Where does the hunt end? Well, this is a new type of experience for me. I hope to shed a light on some facts.

Maybe it’s just me, but the English Degree is dead unless you have a masters or a spot with the Big Publishers. I live in Somewhere-land, about an hour plus from Boston. The only available writing-related jobs are there. I’ve seen maybe two out in Worcester, but they were asking for a million years experience. Even remote positions are hard to come by, but I’ve applied to a handful. Hopefully something will come along, but I don’t see it happening for my degree.

Luckily, the dream is still alive. I’ve been writing three different stories, but my main focus is on Parallels. I literally fall asleep thinking about the endless possibilities for this story.

Back on topic, I was feeling pretty down about my degree. I mean, there I was, a college graduate with the world ahead of her. Instead of words, I got involved in numbers. LOTS of numbers. And I loved it. I loved sales and truly being able to help someone based on their personal needs. It felt good to have someone leave satisfied, happy with my service. But I kept searching for that dream job. The last several years of my life, I wrote and I read. I planted the seeds into people’s heads that I was so ready for that giant step for mankind into an editing position. Oh, I was ready. And I still am.

This whole experience of being without a job has got me wondering, is there ever a right way to pry open that door of opportunity? Do we all have to put our dreams on the backburner? It’s pretty sad in retrospect; we prepare for a career we will love, but it usually doesn’t come until much later. Colleges should be teaching students how to utilize their degrees in various ways to minimize this problem. Take myself for example; I’ve been looking for editorial, yes. However, after researching online, I’ve been using other keywords that go along with English such as coordinator and public relations. It took me a long time to realize the different ways my degree can be applied. I mean really, how hard is that to tell to a student?

Ah, the rant. I figured I would write a little about my experience and see what you guys and gals thought. Give me your input, your story. Was there a time where your degree sat idly by? And what was that AHA moment for you when you finally used it?

 

Maranda

 

Leave a comment