Oh, hello there! I didn’t see you pull in. Come in, come in. Welcome to my imagination. Here, take a seat on this lovely floral chair from the antique shop. No? Would you prefer this wooden chair from my study? Sure, I suppose I can show you around before we choose a seat. (I, for one, would take the comfy chair when we return. I have fallen asleep in it many times.)

Here is the first floor, of course. The entryway where ideas come and go as they please. I never lock the door; they never knock, you see. Sometimes I won’t even be here, but at work, and they just pop in and hang around until I can see them. Sometimes they go in the kitchen and get themselves a snack. Oh, are you hungry? I have some cupcakes or cashews. Fruit seems to keep the good ideas around more than junk, though. Fuel for the brain, you know. The dining room is where I let the food settle. If an idea really sticks, I digest as much of it as possible before heading anywhere else.

And here we have the living room. Sometimes I view or listen to other works to see if it will attract some unique thoughts. If I put on action movies, it tends to drive thoughts in like flies to a light. However, I tend not to relax too much, or I will end up ignoring everything else entirely. I don’t want to be a couch potato!

Come up stairs. Don’t be shy. The best work, I find, is done in my study. Oh, to absorb music and be surrounded by literature is a beautiful thing. Yes, writer’s block comes in sometimes, jams up my mental connection. But I try to give it a swift kick in the shin before it gets too comfortable. The room across from here is my bedroom. I can never hold on to those ideas too long; they fly in and out of the window in dream-form at wee hours in the night. (There’s a bathroom down the hall as well, but no ideas go in there.) So, do you like it? I know it’s small inside, but the yard is . . . well . . . almost never-ending. You think I’m kidding? Go on, go outside. You think it’s messy inside my imagination? This is only where I store current projects. Out there is a vast universe of everything I have ever dreamed or wished for my works.

Really? You want the tour?

Alright… We can take a horse and buggy, though. It’s too long a walk.

Maybe you should eat first. This will take a lifetime.

OH! I’m sorry I didn’t get your name.

Muse? Very fitting, I’d say. *Smile* Let’s go, then. Out into the wild.

2 thoughts on “My Muse is not Dead

  1. OMGod, Maranda, I have never been able to put my thoughts into words,as you can….and so easily! They just seem to “flow”, I think, as your heart flows. So beautiful! So amazing! God has truly granted you a gift….and you have learned to use it to it’s full potential. I am so proud of you..love,mom

    1. Thank you mom! Im blessed since you and Grammy Beth both loved writing. I love you and im so glad you support me 🙂

Leave a comment